Southern Island

Nobody escapes.
“He did.”
“For real?”
“Yes for real.”
“Then why are you still here?”
“Because he didn’t escape with me.”
“Why didn’t he?”
“Maybe because he was too engraved in his Southern Island.”
“In what?”
Southern Island
“And what is that?”
“Don’t you ever heard of the phrase, As the name suggests?
“Fine. Where is that island?”
“I don’t know.”
“What? Why?”
“Because it’s his island.”
“But you ought to know, you are his girlfriend.”
“I was.”
Oh.”
There was a long pause. She didn’t know what to say. Her friend had a breakup and she was talking about her ex.
“Don’t feel bad. It’s alright. I wanted him to go on that island.”
“Okay. Why don’t you tell me everything?”

“It started with the death of his dog. The long loved buddy, the best friend, his younger brother. I saw him broken. Broken of things happening in this life. He used to say that he’ll leave for a Southern Island. I didn’t understand at first and thought he was talking about a trip at Andaman islands. Everyday he used to return to me, kiss me on forehead and say we will be at the island soon. I was uncertain about that. I asked him about the island.
He said, Southern Island is an island that I drew when I was little. The drawing consisted of him, his dog, his mother, a boat and sea with a house made of wood. He said it was his dream to live peacefully in the world.
At first, I thought he was going in depression. I consoled him and agreed to go with him. Few days after , he started planning to leave his job. We fought over that. He said he wasn’t happy with his job, said he wanted to leave it as soon as possible.”
“Then?”
“You know Vinay is a very stubborn guy. I couldn’t stop him from leaving. But our relationship was torn apart. I couldn’t leave mine. I was hell bent on making my career.”
“That’s a good thing. You shouldn’t leave your job.”
“Initially I was certain of my decision but then I saw my boss at his retirement party. He looked old pale grumpy as ever but this time he looked unhappy. When I asked him he said that I was so hell bent on making money, I didn’t create life.
That night I missed him. I wanted to go hug my life. I couldn’t. I rummaged through his leftover belongings. I found his old drawing. He looked happy.”
“So do you regret your decision?”
“Yes.”
“It will be fine.”
It will be fine. That’s what she said every morning and every night but she couldn’t help but think if her career is her life. She cried to sleep and hoped to get better.

Hope, yes hope. The only thing people can do when there’s dark outside and darker inside.

The week after, she walked across the street to look for a good club, have some drinks. She found one.

“Hey.” A stern familiar voice called out. It was him. The guy who left her for southern island.
“Hi? How are you?” She tried hard keeping her breath steady.
“Good infact great. And you?”
“I’m fine.”
“I missed you.”

“I missed you too.”(You fuckin asshole, you just don’t barge into my life again specially when I’m having a nice drink and tell I miss u)

“You look beautiful.”
“Why are you here?” I feared it would come to this. I remembered how she look when angry. I left out a chuckle.
“Do you think it’s a joke?” Her anger intensified and her beauty too.
” Okay, Listen to me.”
“I’m all ears.”
“I flew off to the Southern Island. It was exactly just like my dream. I adopted a dog and opened a nice cafe. I had everything I wanted.”
“So why aren’t you there?”
Because I had everything I wanted. Not everything I needed.
“What?”
“I need you the most. I figured it out when I was there. I had a cafe with a nice look a dog and a house. But my Southern Island missed something. It isn’t peaceful without you. It feels as if the South is missing from the island.”
She was silent. I was anxious.
“Sit”
“Umm… okay.”
“Get a drink.”
“Ahh.. Shreya?”
“Get a drink.”
“All right. But for what?”
“To make a toast”
“To what?”
“To our new relationship. I’ll kill you if you leave alone again.”
“You know I love you, right?” I chuckled
“Yeah yeah I do.”

She leaned in and kissed my cheek.
To the Southern Islands.”
“To the Southern Islands.”

The glasses chimed.

image

Leave a Reply

